Press "Enter" to skip to content

New Supreme Court Fellows Begin Term

Four Supreme Court Fellows are set to begin their fellowships for the 2019-2020 term in September.

Heather K. O’Brien, previously senior legal counsel for U.S. Center for SafeSport, is assigned to the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts. 

Jennifer L. Barrow, who served as a law clerk to Judge Ralph K. Winter of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, is assigned to the U.S. Sentencing Commission.

D. Seth Fortenbery, a former law clerk to Judge Eugene E. Siler, Jr. of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, was selected to work with the Federal Judicial Center.

Sarah E. Kramer joins the program from the U.S. Court of International Trade, where she clerked for Judge Gary S. Katzmann. She is assigned to the Supreme Court’s Office of the Counselor to the Chief Justice.

The Supreme Court Fellows Program was created in 1973 by the late Chief Justice Warren E. Burger to provide individuals with a firsthand understanding of the federal government, in particular, the judicial branch. In the words of Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr., the program offers “a unique opportunity for exceptional individuals to contribute to the administration of justice at the national level.”

Each year, fellows work with top officials in the judicial branch on various projects examining the federal judicial process and seeking, proposing, and implementing solutions that further the administration of justice. 

The Supreme Court Fellows are selected by a commission composed of nine members selected by the Chief Justice of the United States. Read additional background on each of the 2019-2020 Supreme Court Fellows and the program’s history.

Go to Source

%d bloggers like this: